Codecademy: Building Internet Literacy One Tag at a Time

Messing Around with Codecademy

codeacademystart

I know! Its embarrassing that I am still using Vista as you can see. I blame it on my laptop. It still functions after nearly 6 years and I don’t “need” another. (Although I “want” another)

It was able to run Codecademy so its all good. I threw on the tunes on Spotify and began working through Codecademy’s tutorials on html and CSS. This was not my first encounter with coding. I briefly got the basics down while building a quick website as a project for MIS using Microsoft’s Visual Studio program. It was enough to learn and remember the tags and formatting of html. Codecademy however, was a far more effective re-introduction to coding.

Re-Introduction to Coding

First time around, coding and myself did not mix very well. We didn’t mix because it felt messy with no direction from the professor. I was able to learn because it was a self-taught kind of assignment, but I didn’t come away with very good feelings about coding and the html language. This time around, I felt relaxed, engaged and hip. Codecademy gave me a direction and I code’d away while listening to my music. Both experiences were learning experiences, but Codecademy was by far the better. It may be due to my inexperience with Microsoft Visual Studio, but I liked how Codecademy’s workspace showed the index file for inputting code and the results box. With my experience with Visual Studio I had to save the file and refresh the website page after each addition to the code. Codecademy showed the inputs and outputs right next to each other. It was much more rewarding way to learn coding.

Codecademy’s Tutorials

As for the actual results of what I did inside Codecademy:

 m'spage

In my first two hours on the site, I began to build a Mariners page highlighting King Felix’s perfect game. In the screenshot above, you can see four elements to the page. I learned the basics of adding pictures, text links, and embedding videos. Of the two pictures, the logo has no link where the picture of Felix is a link to the YouTube video of his perfect game. In other tutorials, I also learned the basics of the <style> tag and formatting and positioning the elements of a webpage.

Final Thoughts

My re-introduction to coding through Codecademy left me with a new outlook. Beforehand, I thought coding was interesting, but I never came across an excuse to look into it. Now, I have tools and resources to further experience the coding language and world. I don’t remember exactly, but somewhere while working the tutorials, I read how learning html and CSS is all about exploring and teaching it to yourself. To some its learning and mastering a new language. To others it can be an enjoyable game-like and creative outlet. Reading about how coding can connect and better lives of a group of people, like the non-profit Coalition for Queens success story, displays the positive “experience” of coding. Like the founder of Coalition for Queens said in the article, “I believe  there are extraordinarily talented people outside the usual audience for tech.” My experience on Codecademy reflected this whole movement towards internet literacy. The founder of Coalition for Queens and everyone involved in the Access Code program are pioneers for bringing people, other than the “usual audience for tech,” into the learning experience of internet literacy.

Here is my progress after two hours on Codecademy.

codeacademyprogress

– Josh

 

 

Leave a Reply

